Cryptocurrency Dictionary

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Address

The address is the cryptographic character string which is publicly visible on transactions either as sender or as recipient. A sender enters the recipient’s address to send a certain amount to him. The word address is another word for ‘public key’.

Airdrop

Conducting a distribution campaign whereby units of a digital currency are given out to a high number of users. Receiving the Airdrop can be tied to various requirements, such as subscription to a newsletter, tweeting a tweet or already holding a particular digital currency.

Warning: Sometimes airdrops are used by malicious individuals to gain access to users’ private information or their private keys. The disclosure of once private key should be absolutely avoided.

Altcoin

An Altcoin (alternative coin) is a cryptocurrency that is not Bitcoin. In total there are more than 1500 Altcoins, most of which depend on their market capitalization for their popularity and importance. Examples of popular Altcoins are Ethereum, EOS, Litecoin, Cardano or Dogecoin.

Some Altcoins are not designed as monetary cryptocurrencies in direct competition to Bitcoin, as it is the case with Dash. Many Altcoins have instead focused on certain fields of application, such as IOTA (Internet of Things), Steemit (Social Media) or Ethereum (Smart Contracts).

AML (Anti-Money Laundering)

AML regulations are laws that financial institutions and their customers have to comply with in order to stop money laundering.

Arbitrage

Arbitrage trading means making a profit out of the price differences between two or more exchanges by purchasing a commodity at a low price at one exchange and selling it for a higher price at the other. This kind of trading is important in order to balance different markets.

ASIC

The term ASIC stands for application-specific integrated circuit and refers to devices created for a single purpose, thereby significantly reducing their manufacturing costs. An ASIC in the cryptocurrency field therefore refers to a mining device capable of mining only currencies with the same algorithm (SHA256, Scrypt, X11, etc…).

ATH (All Time High):

The all-time high is the point in time at which buyers were willing to pay the (until then) maximum price for a single unit of a cryptocurrency.

Bitcoin

Bitcoin was the first cryptocurrency. While the concept was based on older ideas, the anonymous developer(s) Satoshi Nakamoto is considered to be the inventor of Bitcoin and blockchain technology. His Bitcoin white paper appeared in 2008 on a Cypherpunk email list and the first block (the Genesis block) of the Bitcoin blockchain was mined on January 3, 2009.

In terms of market capitalization, Bitcoin is still the biggest of all cryptocurrencies and serves as the basis of many other cryptocurrencies. Even today, Dash is still based on the Bitcoin source code, although it pursues a different scaling approach. The blocks of the Bitcoin blockchain are about 10 minutes apart from each other and have a size of 1 MB, while the blocks of Dash have a size of 2 MB and are only 2.5 minutes apart.

Bitcoin Cash

The Bitcoin core developers have decided to not increase the size of the Bitcoin blocks because they have adopted an off-chain scaling concept called Lightning Network. Because some developers and community members do not agree with the concept, they have developed a separate code base that tries to allow scaling by increasing the block size.

The Bitcoin Cash blocks can reach a size of up to 32 MB, however, since the blockchain is used less than the Bitcoin blockchain, very few blocks are larger than 1 MB. Well-known Bitcoin Cash proponents are the investor Roger Ver (aka Bitcoin Jesus) and Craig Wright (who claims to be Satoshi Nakamoto).

Blockchain

A blockchain is a public ledger that records cryptocurrency transactions. It provides a list of all confirmed transactions in a chronological order. Individual elements of the blockchain are called blocks and the transactions are written into them. The new blocks are added to the chain in regular intervals so that the new transactions are recorded.

Cold Wallet / Cold Storage

A wallet that stores cryptocurrencies in a very secure way as it is not linked to the web. Most cryptocurrency balances that are traded on a exchanges are held in cold wallets until they need to be paid out.

Confirmation

A “confirmation” occurs whenever a transaction has to be entered into a block, because the transaction can no longer be undone. Every additional block added to the blockchain confirms the transaction one more time, because it confirms all blocks written before.

DAO (Dezentrale Autonome Organisation)

The DAO is the organizational structure of the Dash network. A cryptocurrency that is organized as a DAO differs from other cryptocurrencies because it is self-funding and can decide very quickly because community members can vote on its future development. Dash has the longest history as a DAO and is also the biggest one.

Day Trading

Day traders are defined as people who earn money through buying and selling (crypto)currencies (usually on the same day). The high volatility of the cryptocurrency market is beneficial to day traders, but they also take high risks because the price can change at any time.

Exchange

In the world of cryptocurrencies, an exchange is a trading platform on which cryptocurrencies are traded against each other or against fiat money (USD, EUR…). It is important to point out that the seller or buyer creates his own bid and depends on someone else being willing to accept it. Exchanges offer their users charts and tables with which they can observe the current market trend. This is particularly important for traders earning money by trading cryptocurrencies against each other in accordance with price fluctuations.

Fiatcurrency

National currencies are called fiat currencies because they are only created at the will of a centralized organization and that, in contrast to gold and cryptocurrencies, have no intrinsic value. From the Latin fiat = it will, fiat money means “let there be money” which sounds like a reference to the biblical story of creation.

Genesis Block

A Genesis block is the very first block of a blockchain. Therefore, each cryptocurrency has its unique Genesis block, that contains no transaction other than the first block reward payment. Bitcoin was the first cryptocurrency, so Bitcoin’s Genesis Block is the first block ever mined.

Hardware Wallet

Hardware wallets are small devices that can be used to securely store cryptocurrencies. It connects to the computer via the USB port and you can only perform transactions if you confirm them by pushing a key on the hardware wallet.

Hashrate

The hashrate represents the number of mathematical calculations performed every second that gives the first person to find the correct result the permission to write the next block. Which number of calculations is necessary for finding the exact result depends on the difficulty. When the hashrate increases, this means that the network is more secure. But since cryptocurrencies are using different algorithms with different pieces of hardware, it is only possible to compare the hashrates of two cryptocurrencies if the two are using the same algorithm (e.g. Bitcoin and Bitcoin Cash). At the moment, Bitcoin and Dash have a hashrate of 52 Exahash (= 52,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000 hash) and 2 Petahash (= 2,000,000,000,000,000), but Bitcoin uses the Sha256 algorithm, while Dash uses the X11 algorithm.

HODL

The term “Hodl” refers to the prolonged holding of cryptocurrencies, which contrasts with short-term trading. The word “Hodl” is no abbreviation, but indeed the misspelling of the word “Hold”.

InstantSend

The function InstantSend is a unique feature of Dash, which allows to confirm transactions after 1.3 seconds. It is the answer to the so-called DoubleSpend attack, whereby a transaction can be “spent” two times as long as the transaction has not yet been entered into a block (one of the transactions would not be included in the block because it is invalid). Masternodes play a central role for this feature, because they ensure that a transacted balance cannot be used again.

KYC (Know Your Customer)

KYC directives are laws that financial institutions must comply with in order to have accurate information about their customers at their disposal.

Masternodes

Masternodes are an innovation of Dash, although many other cryptocurrencies have already incorporated them. Generally speaking, nodes are the connected storages of the blockchain, while Masternodes also provide other functions. Masternodes are the backbone of PrivateSend, InstantSend and the Decentralized Autonomous Organization (DAO). Because Masternodes must be a reliable service, they are rewarded for providing their services. They also need to have an interest in the success of Dash. Therefore, the owner of a Masterode must hold a minimum of 1000 Dash.

PrivateSend

The function PrivateSend is a unique feature of Dash, which allows the origin of a transaction to be obscured. Therefore, the balance of a user is split into denominations (10, 1, 0.1, 0.01) each of which is mixed several times with the balances of several other users. You can repeat this process up to 8 times and it represents a simple and inexpensive form of anonymization which has never been cracked although it is a theoretically simple solution.

Wörterbuch der Kryptowährungen

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Adresse

Eine Adresse ist die kryptografische Zeichenfolge, welche in Transaktionen öffentlich als Absender oder Empfänger zu sehen ist. Der Absender gibt die Adresse des Empfängers an, um an diese einen bestimmten Betrag zu versenden. Adresse ist ein anderes Wort für Public Key, bzw. „öffentlicher Schlüssel“.

Airdrop

Die Durchführung einer Verteilaktion, bei der Einheiten einer digitalen Währung an eine große Zahl an Nutzern herausgegeben werden. Der Erhalt des Airdrops kann an verschiedene Bedingungen geknüpft sein, wie etwa an das Abonnieren eines Newsletters, das Retweeten eines Tweets oder den Besitz einer bestimmten digitalen Währung.

Achtung: Airdrops werden manchmal von Betrügern verwendet, um an die persönlichen Informationen der Nutzer oder sogar an deren private Schlüssel zu kommen. Die Herausgabe eines „Private Key“ sollte unter allen Umständen vermieden werden.

Altcoin

Jede Kryptowährung, bei der es sich nicht um Bitcoin handelt, wird auch als Altcoin (Alternativer Coin) bezeichnet. Insgesamt gibt es über 1500 Altcoins, deren Bekanntheit und Bedeutung meistens von ihrer Marktkapitalisierung abhängt. Bekannte Altcoins sind z.B Ethereum, EOS, Litecoin, Cardano oder Dogecoin.

Nicht jeder Altcoin ist als monetäre Kryptowährung gedacht, die in direkter Konkurrenz zu Bitcoin steht, wie dies bei Dash der Fall ist. Viele Altcoins haben sich stattdessen auf besondere Anwendungsbereiche konzentriert, wie z.B. IOTA (Internet of Things), Steemit (Social Media) oder Ethereum (Smart Contracts).

AML (Anti-Money Laundering)

Bei AML-Richtlinien handelt es sich um Gesetze, die finanzielle Institutionen und ihre Kunden einhalten müssen, um Geldwäsche zu verhindern.

Arbitrage

Bei Arbitrage Trading geht es darum aus den Kursunterschieden zwischen zwei oder mehr Märkten Gewinn zu schlagen, indem ein Handelsgut auf einem Markt günstig eingekauft und auf einem anderen teurer wieder verkauft wird. Diese Art des Tradings spielt eine wichtige Rolle, wenn es darum geht das Gleichgewicht zwischen verschiedenen Märkten herzustellen.

ASIC

Der Begriff ASIC steht für Anwendungsspezifische integrierte Schaltung (application-specific integrated circuit) und beschreibt Geräte, die nur für eine bestimmte Aufgabe geschaffen wurden, wodurch ihre Herstellungskosten erheblich reduziert werden können. Im Kryptowährungsbereich bezeichnet ein ASIC daher ein Mining-Gerät, welches nur bei einem einzelnen Algorithmus angewendet werden kann (SHA256, Scrypt, X11, etc…).

ATH (All Time High)

Das Allzeithoch ist der Zeitpunkt, an dem Käufer bereit waren den (bis dahin) höchsten Preis für eine Einheit einer Kryptowährung zu bezahlen.

Bestätigung (Confirmation)

Eine „Bestätigung“ findet immer dann statt, wenn eine Transaktion in einen Block eingeschrieben wurde, da diese nun nicht mehr rückgängig gemacht werden kann. Jeder weitere Block, der an die Blockchain angehängt wird, bestätigt die Transaktion ein weiteres Mal, da er alle vorher geschriebenen Blöck bestätigt.

Bitcoin

Bitcoin ist die erste Kryptowährung. Auch wenn das Konzept bereits auf älteren Ideen aufbaute, gilt der anonyme Entwickler Satoshi Nakamoto als Erfinder des Bitcoin und der Blockchain-Technologie. Das Bitcoin-Whitepaper erschien 2008 über eine Cypherpunk E-Mail-Liste und am 3. Januar 2009 wurde der erste Block (der Genesis-Block) der Bitcoin-Blockchain gemined.

Bitcoin ist nach Marktkapitalisierung bis heute die größte aller Kryptowährungen und bietet die Grundlage vieler anderer Kryptowährungen. Auch Dash basiert noch heute auf der Bitcoin-Codebasis, auch wenn es einen anderen Skalierungsansatz verfolgt. Blöcke der Bitcoin-Blockchain liegen ca. 10 Minuten auseinander und sind 1 MB groß, während sie bei Dash 2 MB groß sind und nur 2,5 Minuten auseinander liegen.

Bitcoin Cash

Da die Bitcoin Core Entwickler ein Offchain-Skalierungskonzept verfolgen, haben sie sich dagegen entschieden die Größe der Bitcoin-Blöcke zu erhöhen. Da manche Entwickler und Community-Mitglieder mit diesem Konzept nicht einverstanden sind, entwickelten diese eine separate Codebasis, die versucht Skalierung durch Erhöhung der Blockgröße zu ermöglichen.

Blöcke der Bitcoin Cash Blockchain können bis zu 32 MB groß werden, da die Blockchain jedoch weniger genutzt wird, als die Bitcoin-Blockchain erreichen nur wenige Blöcke eine Größe von über 1 MB. Bekannte Vertreter von Bitcoin Cash sind der Investor Roger Ver (auch bekannt als Bitcoin Jesus) und Craig Wright (der von sich behauptet Satoshi Nakamoto zu sein).

Blockchain

Die Blockchain ist eine öffentliche Datenbank, in der Kryptowährungstransaktionen aufgezeichnet werden. Eine Blockchain stellt eine chronologische Liste aller bestätigten Transaktionen zur Verfügung. Die einzelnen Elemente der Blockchain, in die die Transaktionen eingeschrieben werden, heißen Blöcke. Neue Blöcke werden in regelmäßigen Abständen an die Kette angehangen, damit neue Transaktionen aufgezeichnet werden können.

Cold Wallet / Cold Storage

Eine Wallet, in der Kryptowährungen besonders sicher gelagert werden, da diese nicht mit dem Internet verbunden ist. Die Mehrheit des Kryptowährungsguthabens, das auf einer Währungsbörse gehandelt wird, wird in einer Cold Wallet gehalten, solange es nicht ausgezahlt werden muss.

DAO (Dezentrale Autonome Organisation)

Die DAO ist die Organisationsstruktur, welcher sich das Dash-Netzwerk bedient. Eine Kryptowährung, die als DAO organisiert ist, unterscheidet sich von anderen Kryptowährungen dadurch, dass sie sich selbst finanziert, und, dass sie sehr schnell Entscheidungen treffen kann, da Mitglieder der Community über die weitere Entwicklung abstimmen können. Dash ist die am längsten existierende und größte DAO.

Day Trading

Als Day Trader werden Personen bezeichnet, die Geld damit verdienen, Kryptowährungen zu kaufen und wieder zu verkaufen (meistens am selben Tag), wenn der Kurs gestiegen ist. Day Trader profitieren von der hohen Volatilität des Kryptowährungsmarktes, sie gehen jedoch auch ein hohes Risiko ein, da sich der Kurs jederzeit anders entwickeln kann, als sie es annehmen.

Exchange (Börse)

Ein Exchange ist eine Börse. In der Kryptowährungswelt bezeichnet Exchange eine Handelsplattform auf der Kryptowährungen gegeneinander, bzw. gegen Fiatgeld (US-Dollar, Euro, etc.), gehandelt werden können. Wichtig zu beachten ist hierbei, dass der (Ver-)Käufer sein Angebot selbst erstellt und darauf angewiesen ist, dass jemand anderes bereit ist das Angebot anzunehmen. Exchange-Plattformen bieten ihren Nutzern Graphen und Angebotstabellen, durch die diese den aktuellen Marktverlauf beobachten können. Dies ist von besonderer Bedeutung für Trader, die Geld damit verdienen, dass sie Kryptowährungen entsprechend der aktuellen Kursschwankungen gegeneinander handeln.

Fiatwährungen

Staatliche Währungen werden in der Fachsprache als Fiatwährungen bezeichnet, da sie nur durch den Willen einer zentralen Organisation entstehen und, anders als z.B Goldmünzen und Kryptowährungen, keinen eigenständigen Wert haben. Fiatgeld (von lat. fiat = es werde) bedeutet in Anlehnung an die biblische Schöpfungsgeschichte also „es werde Geld“.

Genesis Block

Der Genesis Block ist der erste Block einer Blockchain. Aus diesem Grund verfügt jede Kryptowährung über ihren eigenen Genesis Block, der keine Transaktion außer der Auszahlung des ersten Block Rewards enthällt. Da Bitcoin die erste Kryptowährung war, ist der Genesis Block der Bitcoin Blockchain der erste Block überhaupt.

Hardware Wallet

Eine Hardware Wallet ist ein kleines Gerät, auf dem Kryptowährungen besonders sicher gelagert werden können. Die Wallet wird über den USB-Anschluss mit dem Computer verbunden und Transaktionen können nur durchgeführt werden, wenn diese über die Eingabetasten der Hardware Wallet bestätigt werden.

Hashrate

Die Hashrate ist die Zahl der Berechnungen, die in einer Sekunde durchgeführt werden, damit der erste Finder des richtigen Ergebnisses das Recht erhält einen neuen Block zu schreiben. Die Zahl der Berechnungen, die ungefähr notwendig ist, um das richtige Ergebnis zu finden, wird durch die ‘difficulty’ (Schwierigkeit) bestimmt. Wenn die Hashrate steigt, bedeutet dies, dass das Netzwerk sicherer geworden ist. Da Kryptowährungen jedoch unterschiedliche Algorithmen verwenden, die auch auf unterschiedliche Hardware zurückgreifen, kann die Hashrate zweier Kryptowährungen nur dann verglichen werden, wenn beide Währungen den gleichen Algorithmus verwenden (z.B. Bitcoin und Bitcoin Cash). Bitcoin und Dash haben momentan eine Hashrate von 52 Exahash (= 52.000.000.000.000.000.000 Hash) bzw. 2 Petahash (= 2.000.000.000.000.000), Bitcoin verwendet jedoch den Sha256 Algorithmus, während Dash den X11 Algorithmus verwendet.

HODL

Unter „Hodl“ versteht man das langfristige Halten von Kryptowährungen, welches dem kurzfristigen Trading entgegengesetzt wird. Es handelt sich bei diesem Wort nicht um eine Abkürzung, sondern um die falsche Schreibweise des Wortes „Hold“.

InstantSend

Die Funktion InstantSend ist eine Besonderheit der Kryptowährung Dash, die ermöglicht, dass Transaktionen bereits nach 1,3 Sekunden „bestätigt“ werden. InstantSend ist die Antwort auf das sog. DoubleSpend-Problem, durch welches ein Guthaben zweimal „ausgegeben“ werden kann, solange die Transaktion noch nicht in einen Block eingeschrieben wurde (wobei eine der Transaktionen als ungültig nicht in den Block aufgenommen würde). Eine zentrale Rolle spielen hierfür die Dash-Masternodes, welche sicherstellen, dass ein Transaktionsguthaben kein zweites Mal verwendet werden kann.

KYC (Know Your Customer)

Bei KYC-Richtlinien handelt es sich um Gesetze, die von Finanzinstituten eingehalten werden müssen, damit ihnen genaue Angaben zu ihren Kunden zur Verfügung stehen.

Masternodes

Masternodes sind eine Erfindung des Dash-Netzwerks, die jedoch bereits von vielen anderen Kryptowährungen übernommen wurde. Nodes im Allgemeinen sind die vernetzten Speicherorte der Blockchain, doch Masternodes üben darüber hinaus noch andere Funktionen aus. Masternodes im Dash-Netzwerk sind die Grundlage der Funktionen PrivateSend und InstantSend sowie der Dezentralen Autonomen Organisation (DAO). Da Masternodes zuverlässig sein müssen, werden ihre Dienste einerseits entlohnt, sie müssen jedoch andererseits auch ein Interesse daran haben, dass das Dash-Netzwerk erfolgreich ist. Aus diesem Grund muss der Betreiber einer Masternode mindestens 1000 Dash besitzen.

PrivateSend

Die Funktion PrivateSend ist eine Besonderheit der Kryptowährung Dash, die ermöglicht, dass der Ursprung einer Transaktion verwischt wird. Hierfür wird das Guthaben eines Nutzers in Denominationen gespalten (10, 1, 0.1, 0.01) und jede dieser Denominationen wird durch die Dash-Masternodes mehrmals mit den Guthaben anderer Nutzer gemischt. Dieser Vorgang kann bis zu 8-mal wiederholt werden und stellt eine einfache und kostengünstige Form der Anonymisierung da, die trotz ihrer theoretischen Einfachheit noch niemals geknackt werden konnte.